Federal Programs

WHAT WE DO...

The Federal Programs Department directly supports the following strategic focus areas:

  • Provide differentiated support for Hernando County’s targeted DA schools
  • Focusing on Hernando County English Language Learners (ELL) demonstrating progress and proficiency toward English Language Acquisition
  • Support the Local Instructional Improvement System (LIIS) that meets, or exceeds, all of FLDOE’s minimum standards for acceptance for LIIS.

Our Staff

Angela Kennedy        
Director of Federal Programs 
kennedy_a@hcsb.k12.fl.us
352-797-7070 ext. 410

Lauren Blackwell 
Administrative Assistant Federal Programs 
blackwell_l@hcsb.k12.fl.us 
352-797-7070 ext. 432

Federal Programs District Staff

Magen Schlechter 
Supervisor of Federal Programs
schlechter_m@hcsb.k12.fl.us
352-797-7070 ext. 295

Mary Bandini
Monitoring & Compliance Specialist
 
bandini_m@hcsb.k12.fl.us
352-797-7070 ext. 441

Shanika Figueroa Rodriguez 
Coordinator of Students & Families in Transition
figueroa_s@hcsb.k12.fl.us  
352-797-7070 ext. 132

 

Jesse Diaz 
District Lead ESOL Coach 
diaz_j@hcsb.k12.fl.us 
352-797-7070 ext. 230

Ondina Waldron
Students & Families in Transition Unaccompanied Youth Case Worker
waldron_o@hcsb.k12.fl.us
352 797-7070 ext. 215
                     
Pam Barron
Students & Families in Transition Specialist
barron_p@hcsb.k12.fl.us
352-797-7070 ext. 291 

Vanessa Torres
Students and Families in Transition Specialist
torres_v@hcsb.k12.fl.us
352-797-7070 ext. 201

ESSA Specialists  

Michelle Barnes
barnes_m@hcsb.k12.fl.us
352-797-7070 ext. 343